Research Advisory Council

The Research Advisory Council, made up of nationally and internationally renowned bioenergy experts, advises the DBFZ on the orientation of its scientific activities. This ensures that the research carried out with institutional funding is scientifically sound and highly relevant to the current and future use of bioenergy in the energy system.

The Research Advisory Council consists of nationally and internationally renowned scientists from the field of bioenergy research. These are appointed by the Supervisory Board, which is made up of representatives of the five most important federal ministries for the work of the DBFZ. The Research Advisory Board meets once a year at the DBFZ.



Location and country

Barbosa, PhD Maria

Microalgal Biotechnology AlgaePARC,
Wageningen University

Wageningen (Netherlands)

Bauen, Dr. Ausilio

Imperial College London

London (United Kingdom)

Bill, Prof. Dr. RalfUniversity of Rostock - Faculty of Agricultural and
Environmental Sciences
Rostock (Germany)

Chiaramonti, Prof. Dr. David (Chair)

Renewable Energy Consortium R&D,
University of Florence

Florenz (Italy)

Christen, Prof. Dr. Olaf

Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg

Halle/Saale (Germany)

Dach, Prof. Dr. Jacek

Poznan University of Life Sciences

Posen (Poland)

Dong, Prof. Dr. Renjie

China Agricultural University (CAU)

Bejing (China)

Dornack, Prof. Dr. Christina

TU Dresden – Institute of Waste Management and
Circular Economy

Dresden (Germany)

Hartmann, Dr. Hans

Technology and Promotion Centre at the Regrowable
Ressource Competence Centre (TFZ)

Straubing (Germany)

Hirth, Prof. Dr. Thomas

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT); University of Stuttgart - Faculty of Energy,-Process- and Bio-Engineering

Stuttgart (Germany)

Kemfert, Prof. Dr. Claudia

German Institute for Economic Research
(DIW Berlin)

Berlin (Germany)

Kruse, Prof. Dr. Andrea

University of Hohenheim

Stuttgart (Germany)

Meyer, Prof. Dr. Bernd

Institute of Energy Process Engineering and Chemical Engineering, TU Bergakademie Freiberg

Freiberg (Germany)

Moreira, Dr. José Roberto

Universidade de São Paulo,
Instituto de Eletrotécnica e Energia

São Paulo (Brasil)

Serrano, Prof. Dr. David

IMDEA Energy Institute

Madrid (Spain)

Teutsch, Prof. Dr. Georg

Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research – UFZ

Leipzig (Germany)

Thiffault, PhD Evelyne

University Laval Canada Québec

Québec (Canada)

Walther, Prof. Dr. Grit

RWTH Aachen – Faculty of Economic Sciences

Aachen (Germany)