IEA Bioenergy

The IEA Bioenergy is an organisation founded in 1978 by the International Energy Agency (IEA) with the aim of improving international cooperation and the exchange of information on bioenergy research. Members of the IEA Bioenergy working groups are scientists from OECD and non-OECD countries. In accordance with the current research focus areas in the field of bioenergy research, the IEA Bioenergy consists of various working groups (tasks) with work programmes of three years each. The thematic orientation of the working groups is coordinated by a steering committee (ExCo). In the triennium 2019 - 2021, the IEA Bioenergy comprises 11 tasks, in which about 200 people from different international institutes, universities and economic agencies work together. The DBFZ is currently represented with several scientists in five working groups (Tasks) of the IEA Bioenergy. Further information is available at: www.ieabioenergy.com.

News

March 2021 Webinar Task 44

On Thursday, 18.03.2021 the online event "Flexible Bioenergy in Renewable Energy Systems" with Daniela Thrän and other members of Task 44 took place.
Contents were the presentation of two upcoming reports (Technical options and Expectation and implementation of flexible bioenergy in different countries).
More information and the link to listen can be found on the IEA Bioenergy website.

+++

An IEA Bioenergy Webinar entitled: The contribution of renewable fuels to road transport decarbonisation will be held on Wednesday 17 November 2020 from 16:00 - 17:30. An expert team from IEA Bioenergy TCP and Advanced Motor Fuels TCP, supported by the European Commission, has looked at and assessed the transport sector and its likely development up to 2030 and 2050 for a number of countries, including Germany, Sweden, Finland, USA and Brazil. Dr Franziska Müller-Langer (Head of Biorefineries) also contributed to the results.

+++

Task 40 has published a paper with the collaboration of DBFZ colleagues Malgorzata Borchers, Alena Hahn and Daniela Thrän: "Deployment of BECCS/U value chains. Technological pathways, policy options and business models".

An introduction to the report was given on 16.06.2020 as a web seminar, which can be viewed at the following link: https://www.ieabioenergy.com/publications/iea-bioenergy-webinar-deployment-of-bioenergy-combined-with-carbon-capture-and-storage-or-utilisation-beccs-u/

 

Task 40 is leading the Intertask Project "Deployment of Bio-CCS/CCU Value Chains" and has completed a first set of case studies, focusing on the integration of CCS into centralised biomass-based heat and/or power generation:

  1. biomass based combined heat and power (CHP) - HOFOR Amager CHP, Copenhagen, Denmark.
  2. bioelectricity - Drax Power Station, United Kingdom
  3. waste-to-energy - Fortum Oslo Varme (FOV), Oslo, Norway

Twenty-eight scientists (many of them Task 45 members) from around the world with expertise in forestry, climate and energy systems have contributed to an article addressing the conflicting evidence on the climate impacts of forest bioenergy in order to reduce the confusion created by the publication of divergent studies to inform policy development, business decisions and public debate on bioenergy.

"Applying a science-based systems perspective to dispel misconceptions about climate effects of forest bioenergy "

This open-access article recently published in the journal GCB Bioenergy is freely available at https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf/10.1111/gcbb.12844.

A report published in June by IEA Bioenergy Task 39 provides a comprehensive analysis of current and potential technologies for the production of sustainable biomass-based aviation fuels.

+++

Publication: Report Task 44 led by DBFZ March 2021:  Expectation and implementation of flexible bioenergy in different countries [Info]

December 2020: Task 39 Report: Comparison of Biofuel Life Cycle Analysis Tools: biochemical 2G ethanol production and distribution

+++

The Bioenergy Newsletter Volume 32 Number 2 published an article about the focus of the working group IEA Bioenergy Task 44 - Flexible Bioenergy and System Integration. Authors are the two leaders of Task 44 Ilkka Hannula and Daniela Thrän.

+++

New publication: Summary report – The Role of Renewable Transport Fuels in Decarbonizing Road Transport

New publication: Comparison of Biofuel Life Cycle Analysis Tools: biochemical 2G ethanol production and distribution

+++

A Task 34 brochure was published in August 2020: Direct Thermochemical Liquefaction of biomass - Characteristics, processes and technologies.

Based on current discussions, the IEA Bioenergy has prepared a short document that presents the most important facts about the use of forest biomass for climate protection.

+++

Since Monday, 20.07.2020 there is a summary and extended report of the workshop "Roles of bioenergy technologies in energy system pathways towards a WB2/SDG world", available which took place on 25.11.2019 in Berlin.

The report and workshop was co-organized by Daniela Thrän. The workshop took place in the context of the Intertask project "The Role of Bioenergy in a WB2/SDG world", in which several tasks of the IEA Bioenergy work together.

Download IEA Bioenergy- Publication

A written version on the topic: "Drivers for Successful and Sustainable Biogas Projects": International Perspectives Report of a symposium held on March 26, 2020 is available from Task 37.​​​​

Change of task leadership at VTT: From January 2021, Daniela Thrän will no longer steer the fortunes of Task 44 with Ilkka Hannula, but together with Elina Mäki.

+++

The Biofuture Platform, a multi-stakeholder initiative from twenty countries to take action against climate change and support sustainable development goals by promoting international coordination of a sustainable low-carbon bio-economy, announced the introduction of a set of voluntary principles.

+++

Task 39 has published a Newsletter May 2020, in which Franziska Müller-Langer (DBFZ), Nicolaus Dahmen (KIT) and Gabriel Costa de Paiva (DBFZ) have written an article worth reading: "Biofuels Production and Consumption in Germany: Status, Advances and Challenges".

National team leader

Task 37 - "Energy from Biogas"

Task 37 is an international working group dealing with the anaerobic digestion (AD) of biomass feedstocks, including agricultural residues (e.g. fertilisers and crop residues), energy crops, organically rich wastewater, the organic fraction of municipal waste (OFMSW) and organic industrial waste. The main interests are the production of biogas for direct use for heat and electricity, the upgrading of biogas to biomethane, the use of biogas/biomethane for electricity grid balancing and high quality digestate that can be used as organic fertiliser. Task 37 deals with the entire biogas production chain, from the collection and pre-treatment of raw materials, through biogas upgrading and the use of bio-fertiliser, to the sustainability of the process chain.

Further information



Dr. Peter Kornatz
Phone: +49 (0)341 2434-716
E-Mail


Task 39 - "Commercialising Conventional and Advanced Transport Biofuels from Biomass and Other Renewable Feedstocks"

Task 39 is a group of international experts working on the commercialisation of sustainable biofuels for transport. Bioenergy and biofuels are important components within the green energy portfolio of a country. While there are many renewable energy options for heat and power generation, biofuels are currently the only way to replace liquid fossil fuels such as gasoline, diesel and aviation fuels.

Further information



Dr. Franziska
Müller-Langer

Phone: +49 (0)341 2434-423
E-Mail

Task 40 - "Deployment of biobased value chains"

The IEA Bioenergy Task 40 (known in the triennium 2016-2018 as "Sustainable biomass markets and international bioenergy trade to support the biobased economy") was established in December 2003 under the Bioenergy Implementing Agreement of the International Energy Agency with the aim of supporting the development of sustainable international markets and international trade in biomass. With the current triennium 2019-2021 this focus has been extended. The focus of Task 40 is on the development and design of efficient and sustainable value chains to support the increased use of biomass for energy, but also for bio-based products, chemicals and materials, taking into account the food and feed markets, in a regional, national and international context. Topics such as bio-economy, new regional bio-energy markets, BECCS/U and renewable gases play an essential role in this context.

Further information



Christiane Hennig
Phone: +49 (0)341 2434-535
E-Mail



Nora Lange
Task 40 Secretary
Phone: +49 (0)341 2434-598
E-Mail


Task 44 - "Flexible Bioenergy and System Integration"

The newly formed Task 44 builds on previous work done in the IEA Bioenergy Task 41 special projects in 2016-17. Although extensive deployment of variable renewable energy (VRE) is an important part of the overall transformation under the energy transition, rapid changes in the energy mix can pose challenges to the resilience of the power grid, especially during periods of weather-related stress. The focus of our work is to develop and analyze bioenergy solutions that can provide flexible resources for a low-carbon energy system. The goal is to improve understanding of the types, quality, and status of flexible bioenergy, and to identify barriers and future development needs in the context of the overall energy system. In doing so, we are investigating the following focus areas: flexible bioenergy concepts to support low-carbon energy systems, accelerating implementation, and system requirements for bioenergy concepts. Likewise, the Task participates in intertask projects and collaborative projects.

Further information

 



Prof. Dr. Daniela Thrän
Phone: (0)341 2434-435
E-Mail | Profile

Task 45 - "Climate and sustainability effects of bioenergy within the broader bioeconomy"

Task 45 is a new working group within the IEA Bioenergy with its first triennium of activities in 2019-2021 with the aim of identifying and addressing critical issues related to climate and other sustainability effects of bioenergy and bio-based products and systems. The goal is to promote the sound development of bioenergy as an integral part of the overall bio-economy.

Further information

 



Stefan Majer
Phone: (0)341 2434-411
E-Mail

IEA Bioenergy

Die IEA Bioenergy ist eine 1978 von der International Energy Agency (IEA) gegründete Organisation mit dem Ziel, die internationale Zusammenarbeit und den Informationsaustausch zum Thema Bioenergieforschung zu verbessern. Mitglied in den IEA Bioenergy Arbeitsgruppen sind Wissenschaftler*innen aus OECD und Nicht-OECD-Ländern. Gemäß der aktuellen Forschungsschwerpunkte im Bereich der Bioenergieforschung besteht die IEA Bioenergy aus verschiedenen Arbeitsgruppen (Tasks) mit Arbeitsprogrammen von jeweils drei Jahren. Die thematische Ausrichtung der Arbeitsgruppen wird über ein Steuerungsgremium (ExCo) abgestimmt. Im Triennium 2019- 2021 umfasst die IEA Bioenergy 11 Tasks, in denen ca. 200 Personen unterschiedlicher internationaler Institute, Universitäten sowie wirtschaftlicher Agenturen zusammenarbeiten. Das DBFZ ist mit mehreren Wissenschaftler*innen derzeit in fünf Arbeitsgruppen (Tasks) der IEA Bioenergy vertreten. Weitere Informationen unter: www.ieabioenergy.com.

Nachrichten

März 2021 Webinar Task 44

Am Donnerstag, 18.03.2021 fand das Online EventFlexible Bioenergy in Renewable Energy Systems”mit Daniela Thrän und weiteren Mitgliedern der Task 44 statt.

Inhalte waren die Vorstellung zweier kommender Berichte (Technische Optionen und Erwartungen und Umsetzung von flexibler Bioenergie in verschiedenen Ländern = Expectation and implementation of flexible bioenergy in different countries (Info)

Mehr Informationen und den Link zum Nachhören findet man auf der IEA Bioenergy Webseite.

+++

Am Mittwoch, 17. November 2020 findet von 16:00 – 17:30 Uhr ein IEA Bioenergy Webinar mit dem Titel:  The contribution of renewable fuels to road transport decarbonisation statt; ein Expertenteam aus IEA Bioenergy TCP und dem Advanced Motor Fuels TCP, mit Unterstützung der Europäischen Kommission hat den Verkehrssektor und seine voraussichtliche Entwicklung bis 2030 und 2050 für eine Reihe von Ländern, darunter Deutschland, Schweden, Finnland, USA und Brasilien, angeschaut und bewertet. Zu den Ergebnissen beigetragen hat auch Dr. Franziska Müller-Langer (Bereichsleiterin Bioraffinerien) beigetragen.

+++

Die Task 40 hat eine Publikation unter Mitarbeit der DBFZ Kollegen Malgorzata Borchers, Alena Hahn und Daniela Thrän veröffentlicht: „Deployment of BECCS/U value chains. Technological pathways, policy options and business models“.

Eine Einführung in den Report gab es am 16.06.2020 als Web-Seminar, den man sich unter folgenden Link anschauen kann: https://www.ieabioenergy.com/publications/iea-bioenergy-webinar-deployment-of-bioenergy-combined-with-carbon-capture-and-storage-or-utilisation-beccs-u/

Die Task 40 leitet das task-übergreifende Projekt (Intertask Project) “Deployment of Bio-CCS/CCU Value Chains” und hat eine erste Reihe von Fallstudien fertiggestellt, die sich auf die Integration von CCS in die zentrale biomassebasierte Wärme- und/oder Stromerzeugung konzentrieren:

  1. Biomass based combined heat and power (CHP) – HOFOR Amager CHP, Copenhagen, Denmark
  2. Bioelectricity – Drax Power Station, United Kingdom
  3. Waste-to-Energy – Fortum Oslo Varme (FOV), Oslo, Norway

Achtundzwanzig Wissenschaftler (davon viele Mitglieder der Task 45) aus der ganzen Welt mit Expertise in den Bereichen Forstwirtschaft, Klima und Energiesysteme haben zu einem Artikel beigetragen, in dem sie sich mit den konträren Erkenntnissen über die Klimaauswirkungen von Waldbioenergie auseinandersetzen um die Verwirrung zu reduzieren, die durch die Veröffentlichung divergierender Studien entsteht, um die Politikentwicklung, Geschäftsentscheidungen und die öffentliche Debatte über Bioenergie zu informieren.

“Applying a science-based systems perspective to dispel misconceptions about climate effects of forest bioenergy “

This open-access article recently published in the Journal GCB Bioenergy is freely available at https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf/10.1111/gcbb.12844.

Ein im Juni veröffentlichter Bericht, der IEA Bioenergy Task 39 bietet eine umfassende Analyse der aktuellen und potenziellen Technologien zur Herstellung von nachhaltigen Flugkraftstoffen auf Biomassebasis

+++

Veröffentlichung Report Task 44 federführend vom DBFZ März 2021:  Expectation and implementation of flexible bioenergy in different countries [Info]

Dezember 2020: Task 39 Report: Comparison of Biofuel Life Cycle Analysis Tools: biochemical 2G ethanol production and distribution

+++

Im Bioenergy Newsletter Volume 32 Number 2 wurde ein Artikel über den Fokus der Arbeitsgruppe IEA Bioenergy Task 44 - Flexible Bioenergy and System Integration veröffentlicht. Autoren sind die beiden Leiter der Task 44 Ilkka Hannula und Daniela Thrän.

+++

Neue Publikation: Summary report – The Role of Renewable Transport Fuels in Decarbonizing Road Transport

Neue Publikation: Comparison of Biofuel Life Cycle Analysis Tools: biochemical 2G ethanol production and distribution

+++

Die Task 37 (Jan Liebetrau) hat einen neuen Report herausgebracht: Integration of Biogas Systems into the Energy System – Technical Aspects of Flexible Plant Operation

+++

Aufgrund aktueller Diskussionen hat die IEA Bioenergie ein kurzes Dokument vorbereitet, das die wichtigsten Fakten über die Nutzung von Waldbiomasse für den Klimaschutz präsentiert

+++

Seit dem 20.07.2020 gibt es einen zusammenfassenden und erweiterten Bericht vom Workshop „Roles of bioenergy technologies in energy system pathways towards a WB2/SDG world“, der am 25.11.2019 in Berlin stattfand. Der Bericht und Workshop wurde federführend mit organisiert von Daniela Thrän. Der Workshop fand im Zusammenhang des Intertask Projekts „The Role of Bioenergy in a WB2/SDG world“ statt, in dem mehrere Tasks der IEA Bioenergy gemeinsam zusammen arbeiten.

Download IEA Bioenergy- Publikation

Eine schriftlichen Fassung zum Thema: Drivers for Successful and Sustainable Biogas ProjectsInternational Perspectives Report of a symposium held on March 26, 2020 gibt es von der Task 37.

Wechsel der Taskleitung bei VTT: Daniela Thrän wird ab Januar 2021 nicht mehr mit Ilkka Hannula, sondern zusammen mit Elina Mäki die Geschicke der Task 44 lenken.

+++

Bioenergie-Experten der IEA, als Teil eines externen Ad-hoc-Expertennetzwerks, tragen zu einer neuen Veröffentlichung der Europäischen Kommission bei:

‘Future transitions for the Bioeconomy towards Sustainable Development and a Climate-Neutral Economy – Knowledge Synthesis Final Report’

+++

Die Biofuture-Plattform, eine Multi-Stakeholder-Initiative aus zwanzig Ländern, die Maßnahmen gegen den Klimawandel ergreifen und die Ziele der nachhaltigen Entwicklung unterstützen soll, indem sie die internationale Koordination einer nachhaltigen kohlenstoffarmen Bioökonomie fördert, kündigte die Einführung einer Reihe freiwilliger Grundsätze an.

+++

Die Task 39 hat einen Newsletter May 2020 herausgebracht, darin veröffentlicht von Franziska Müller-Langer (DBFZ), Nicolaus Dahmen (KIT) und Gabriel Costa de Paiva (DBFZ) ein lesenswerter Artikel: „Biofuels Production and Consumption in Germany: Status, Advances and Challenges“.

National team leader

Task 37 - "Energy from Biogas"

Die Task 37 ist eine internationale Arbeitsgruppe, die sich mit der anaeroben Vergärung (AD) von Biomasse-Rohstoffen befasst, darunter landwirtschaftliche Rückstände (z.B. Dünger und Ernterückstände), Energiepflanzen, organisch reiche Abwässer, die organische Fraktion von Siedlungsabfällen (OFMSW) und organische Industrieabfälle. Die Hauptinteressen sind die Produktion von Biogas zur direkten Nutzung für Wärme und Strom, die Aufbereitung von Biogas zu Biomethan, die Nutzung von Biogas/Biomethan für den Stromnetzausgleich und qualitativ hochwertige Gärreste, die als Bio-Dünger verwendet werden können. Die Task 37 befasst sich mit der gesamten Biogasproduktionskette von der Sammlung und Vorbehandlung der Rohstoffe über die Biogasaufbereitung und die Anwendung von Biodünger bis hin zur Nachhaltigkeit der Prozesskette.

Weitere Informationen



Dr. Peter Kornatz
Tel.: +49 (0)341 2434-716
E-Mail


Task 39 - "Commercialising Conventional and Advanced Transport Biofuels from Biomass and Other Renewable Feedstocks"

Die Task 39 ist eine Gruppe internationaler Experten, die an der Kommerzialisierung nachhaltiger Biokraftstoffe für den Verkehr arbeiten. Bioenergie und Biokraftstoffe sind wichtige Komponenten innerhalb des Ökoenergie-Portfolios eines Landes. Während es zahlreiche erneuerbare Energieoptionen für die Wärme- und Stromerzeugung gibt, sind Biokraftstoffe derzeit die einzige Möglichkeit, flüssige fossile Brennstoffe wie Benzin, Diesel und Flugkraftstoffe zu ersetzen.

Weitere Informationen

 



Dr. Franziska
Müller-Langer

Tel.: +49 (0)341 2434-423
E-Mail

Task 40 - "Deployment of biobased value chains"

Die IEA Bioenergy Task 40 (im Triennium 2016-2018 bekannt als "Sustainable biomass markets and international bioenergy trade to support the biobased economy") wurde im Dezember 2003 im Rahmen des Bioenergy Implementing Agreement der Internationalen Energieagentur mit dem Ziel eingerichtet, die Entwicklung nachhaltiger, internationaler Märkte und des internationalen Handels mit Biomasse zu unterstützen. Mit dem aktuellen Triennium 2019-2021 wurde dieser Fokus erweitert. Der Schwerpunkt der Task 40 liegt auf der Entwicklung und Gestaltung effizienter und nachhaltiger Wertschöpfungsketten, um einen stärkeren Einsatz von Biomasse für Energie, aber auch für biobasierte Produkte, Chemikalien und Materialien, unter Berücksichtigung der Lebensmittel- und Futtermittelmärkte, im regionalen, nationalen und internationalen Kontext zu unterstützen. Themen wie Bioökonomie, neue regionale Bioenergiemärkte, BECCS/U und erneuerbare Gase spielen dabei eine wesentliche Rolle.

Weitere Informationen



Christiane Hennig
Tel.: +49 (0)341 2434-535
E-Mail



Nora Lange
Task 40 Secretary
Tel.: +49 (0)341 2434-598
E-Mail


Task 44 - "Flexible bioenergy and system integration"

Die neu gegründete Task 44 basiert auf vorangegangenen Arbeiten, die in den Sonderprojekten der IEA-Bioenergie-Task 41 im Zeitraum 2016-17 geleistet wurde. Obwohl der umfangreiche Einsatz von variabler erneuerbarer Energie (VRE) ein wichtiger Teil der gesamten Transformation im Zuge der Energiewende ist, können schnelle Veränderungen im Energiemix Herausforderungen für die Belastbarkeit des Stromnetzes darstellen, insbesondere in Zeiten wetterbedingter Belastungen. Der Fokus unserer Arbeit liegt auf der Entwicklung und Analyse von Bioenergielösungen, die flexible Ressourcen für ein kohlenstoffarmes Energiesystem bereitstellen können. Ziel ist es, das Verständnis für die Arten, die Qualität und den Status flexibler Bioenergie zu verbessern sowie Barrieren und zukünftigen Entwicklungsbedarf im Kontext des gesamten Energiesystems zu identifizieren. Dabei untersuchen wir folgende Schwerpunkte: flexible Bioenergiekonzepte zur Unterstützung kohlenstoffarmer Energiesysteme, die Beschleunigung der Implementierung und die Systemvoraussetzungen für Bioenergiekonzepte. Ebenso beteiligt sich die Task an Intertask-Projekten und Verbundprojekten.

Weitere Informationen

 



Prof. Dr. Daniela Thrän
Tel.: (0)341 2434-435
E-Mail | Profil

Task 45 - "Climate and sustainability effects of bioenergy within the broader bioeconomy"

Task 45 ist eine neue Arbeitsgruppe im Rahmen der IEA-Bioenergie mit ihrem ersten Triennium von Aktivitäten in den Jahren 2019-2021. Das Ziel von Task 45 ist es, kritische Fragen im Zusammenhang mit dem Klima und anderen Nachhaltigkeitseffekten von Bioenergie und biobasierten Produkten und Systemen zu identifizieren und anzugehen. Das Ziel ist die Förderung einer soliden Entwicklung der Bioenergie als integraler Bestandteil der gesamten Bioökonomie. 

Weitere Informationen

 



Stefan Majer
Tel.: (0)341 2434-411
E-Mail