Soil improvement in Ethiopia through the energetic and material use of agricultural residues - ETH-Soil

Welcome to the ETH-Soil project website.

The aim of the project is to improve food security in three pilot regions of the Oromia region/Ethiopia through the application of biofertilisers from pyrolysis and biogas plants.

It contributes to the national implementation of the 2030 Agenda and addresses solutions to the following challenges:

  • Combating hunger through untapped agricultural and social potential,
  • sustainable management of natural resources,
  • education and training for economic, social and technical progress.

The project aims at restoring degraded soils and the resulting problematic food security. The target group is small and micro farmers with low incomes in rural regions, who are often threatened by food shortages.

Closely linked to projects already rolled out in the country and an essential factor in ensuring the sustainability of the project are the modules implemented in the project for the education and training of skilled workers. It draws on the preliminary work of KfW ("FC Programme Vocational and Higher Education in Ethiopia") and GIZ ("Capacity Building in Education in Ethiopia") and is thus intended to ensure the transfer of knowledge within already existing formats.

The DBFZ is expanding its existing portfolio of projects and measures in Africa through this project and, as a research institution under the sole sponsorship of the BMEL, can contribute to bringing the technologies, competencies and experience developed in Germany to Ethiopia as well as to the whole of Africa and to the benefit of the people on the ground.

The project will run from 2021 to 2026.

Bodenverbesserung in Äthiopien durch die energetische und stoffliche Nutzung landwirtschaftlicher Reststoffe - ETH-Soil

Herzlich Willkommen auf der Projektwebseite zum Vorhaben ETH-Soil.

Ziel des Projekts ist es, die Ernährungssicherheit in drei Pilotregionen der Region Oromia/Äthiopien durch Anwendung von Biodünger aus Pyrolyse- und Biogasanlagen zu verbessern. Es leistet einen Beitrag zur nationalen Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 und widmet sich Problemlösungen für folgende Herausforderungen:

  • Bekämpfung von Hunger durch ungenutzte landwirtschaftliche und soziale Potentiale,
  • nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung natürlicher Ressourcen,
  • Aus- und Weiterbildung für einen wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und technischen Fortschritt.

Das Projekt zielt auf die Wiederherstellung degradierter Böden und der damit einhergehenden problematisch werdenden Ernährungssicherheit. Zielgruppe sind Klein- und Kleinstbauern mit geringem Einkommen in ländlichen Regionen, die oftmals von Nahrungsknappheit bedroht sind.

Eng an bereits in Land ausgerollte Vorhaben angeschlossen und wesentlicher Faktor zur Sicherstellung der Nachhaltigkeit des Projekts sind die in das Projekt implementierten Module zur Aus- und Weiterbildung von Fachkräften. Es greift dabei auf die Vorarbeiten von KfW („FZ-Programm Berufs- und Hochschulbildung in Äthiopien“) und GIZ („Kapazitätsaufbau im Bildungswesen in Äthiopien“) zurück und soll dadurch den Wissenstransfer innerhalb bereits bestehender Formate gewährleisten.

Das Deutsche Biomasseforschungszentrum erweitert sein bereits bestehendes Portfolio von Projekten und Maßnahmen in Afrika durch dieses Vorhaben und kann als Forschungseinrichtung in alleiniger Trägerschaft des BMEL dazu beitragen, die in Deutschland entwickelten Technologien, Kompetenzen und Erfahrungen für Äthiopien wie für ganz Afrika und zum Nutzen der Menschen vor Ort einzubringen.

Die Projektlaufzeit erstreckt sich über die Jahre 2021-2026.