PhD example by Dr. Jörg Kretzschmar

Characterisation of a microbial electrochemical sensor platform for anaerobic digestion process control

Energy generation from biogas accounts for approx. 8 % of gross energy production in Germany. While electricity generation from solar and wind power plants depends on fluctuating weather conditions and the time of day, electricity generation from biogas is able to provide electricity and heat on demand. Flexible energy generation from biogas can be made possible, for example, by installing additional gas storage facilities. Another approach is to produce biogas according to the demand by supplying substrates such as maize silage, cattle manure and straw in variable amounts at variable times. However, since high substrate input rates can interfere with the process, there are special process monitoring requirements.

In order to establish successful process control in the future, real-time monitoring of central process indicators, such as acetate concentration, is necessary. Currently, the acetate concentration and the concentration of other important volatile fatty acids or their salts (e. g. propionate and butyrate) are determined using time-consuming and costly methods such as gas or liquid chromatography or automated titration. The aim of this work was therefore to develop and characterise a microbial electrochemical sensor for real-time measurement of acetate in the biogas process. The most important part of the biosensor, the receptor, consists of a Geobacter sp.-dominated biofilm on a graphite electrode. The bacteria oxidise acetate, among other things, as part of their energy metabolism. The amount of oxidised acetate correlates with the number of electrons transferred and thus with the sensor current. Within the scope of the work, basic sensor parameters, such as measuring range, measurement resolution, cross-sensitivity and functional stability of the biosensor were examined.


In addition to determining these parameters in artificial wastewater, experiments were carried out to verify the sensor’s function in its future process environment, the biogas process. Furthermore, possible impurities from the biogas process were investigated for the microbial receptor. The focus here was on a high salt and ammonium concentration and the effect of fumarate as an alternative electron acceptor. Finally, the suitability of electrochemical impedance spectroscopy as a tool for the in situ monitoring of biosensor functionality was investigated. For this purpose, electrochemical impedance measurements were carried out on metabolically active receptors.

The characterisation of the biosensor showed a measuring range of 0.5–5 mmol L-1 acetate and a measuring resolution of 0.25–1 mmol L-1. When the biosensor is used in the biogas process, the upper measuring limit of 5 mmol L-1 acetate must be raised to at least 20 mmol L-1. This can be achieved by using a membrane as an additional diffusion barrier. The proof of function in the biogas process proved there is a clear correlation between sensor current and acetate concentration. However, the investigations identified an inhibition of the sensor and the microbial receptor over a period of 1–8 days. The investigation for possible impurities revealed the biofilms have a tolerance to a high salt concentration of (13.5 g L-1) and an ammonium concentration of up to 3 g L-1 NH4+, a typical value for biogas reactors.

Based on the current state of knowledge, using the biosensor to monitor the biogas process or other processes in which acetate plays a role seems possible in principle. In order to further develop the sensor concept into a market-ready product, further measures must be tested and implemented in order to increase the measuring range and to stabilise and monitor the biological receptor.

 

Are you interested in doing a doctoral programm at the DBFZ?
Please contact the head of the PHD-programm: 
Dr. Elena H. Angelova

Please send your application to bewerbung(at)dbfz(dot)de

Promotionsbeispiel von Dr. Jörg Kretzschmar

Characterisation of a microbial electrochemical sensor platform for anaerobic digestion process control

Die Energieerzeugung aus Biogas trägt mit ca. 8 % zur Bruttoenergieerzeugung in Deutschland bei. Während die Stromerzeugung aus Solar- und Windkraftanlagen von schwankenden Wetterbedingungen und Tageszeiten abhängt, ist die Stromerzeugung aus Biogas in der Lage, Strom und Wärme bedarfsgerecht bereitzustellen. Flexible Energieerzeugung aus Biogas kann zum Beispiel über die Installation von zusätzlichen Gasspeichern ermöglicht werden. Ein anderer Ansatz ist die bedarfsgerechte Biogasproduktion durch eine zeitlich variable Zufuhr von Substraten wie Maissilage, Rindergülle und Stroh. Da hohe Substratinputraten aber den Prozess stören können, bestehen besondere Anforderungen an die Prozessüberwachung.

Um in Zukunft eine erfolgreiche Prozessteuerung zu etablieren, ist eine Echtzeitüberwachung von zentralen Prozessindikatoren, wie z. B. der Acetatkonzentration, notwendig. Zurzeit wird die Acetatkonzentration sowie die Konzentration anderer wichtiger flüchtiger Fettsäuren bzw. deren Salze (z. B. Propionat und Butyrat), mit zeitaufwendigen und kostenintensiven Methoden wie z. B. der Gas- oder Flüssigkeitschromatographie oder der automatisierten Titration bestimmt. Das Ziel dieser Arbeit war daher die Entwicklung und Charakterisierung eines mikrobiellen elektrochemischen Sensors zur Echtzeitmessung von Acetat im Biogasprozess. Der wichtigste Teil des Biosensors, der Rezeptor, besteht aus einem Geobacter sp. dominierten Biofilmauf einer Graphitelektrode. Die Bakterien oxidieren u. a. Acetat im Rahmen ihres Energiestoffwechsels. Die Stoffmenge an oxidiertem Acetat korreliert mit der Anzahl übertragener Elektronen und damit mit dem Sensorstrom. Im Rahmen der Arbeit wurden grundlegende Sensorparameter, wie der Messbereich, die Messauflösung, die Querempfindlichkeit und die Funktionsstabilität des Biosensors untersucht.


Neben der Bestimmung der genannten Parameter in künstlichem Abwasser wurden Experimente zum Funktionsnachweis des Sensors in seiner zukünftigen Prozessumgebung, dem Biogasprozess, durchgeführt. Weiterhin wurden für den mikrobiellen Rezeptor mögliche Störstoffe aus dem Biogasprozess untersucht. Hier wurde auf eine hohe Salz- und Ammoniumkonzentration sowie die Wirkung von Fumarat als alternativer Elektronenakzeptor fokussiert. Schlussendlich wurde die Eignung der elektrochemischen Impedanzspektroskopie als Werkzeug für die in situ Überwachung der Funktionalität des Biosensors untersucht. Hierfür wurden elektrochemische Impedanzmessungen an metabolisch aktiven Rezeptoren unter Verwendung verschiedener Acetatkonzentrationen durchgeführt.

Die Charakterisierung des Biosensors ergab einen Messbereich von 0,5–5 mmol L-1 Acetat sowie eine Messauflösung von 0,25–1 mmol L-1. Bei Anwendung des Biosensors im Biogasprozess, muss die obere Messgrenze von 5 mmol L-1 Acetat auf mindestens 20 mmol L-1 angehoben werden. Dies kann unter anderem durch die Verwendung einer Membran als zusätzliche Diffusionsbarriere erreicht werden. Der Funktionsnachweis im Biogasprozess konnte eine eindeutige Korrelation zwischen Sensorstrom und Acetatkonzentration belegen. Allerdings wurde während der Untersuchungen auch eine Hemmung des Sensors bzw. des mikrobiellen Rezeptors innerhalb eines Zeitraums von 1–8 Tagen festgestellt. Die Untersuchung möglicher Störstoffe zeigt eine Toleranz der Biofilme gegenüber hohen Salzkonzentration von (13,5 g L-1) sowie einer Ammoniumkonzentration von bis zu 3 g L-1 NH4+, einem typischen Wert für Biogasreaktoren.

Ausgehend vom derzeitigen Erkenntnisstand erscheint die Anwendung des Biosensors zur Überwachung des Biogasprozesses oder anderer Prozesse bei denen Acetat eine Rolle spielt, grundsätzlich möglich. Um das Sensorkonzept zu einem marktreifen Produkt weiter zu entwickeln, müssen noch weitere Maßnahmen zur Vergrößerung des Messbereichs und zur Stabilisierung sowie Überwachung des biologischen Rezeptors getestet und umgesetzt werden.

 

Sie haben Interesse an einer Promotion am DBFZ?
Nehmen Sie Kontakt mit der Promotionsbeauftragten des DBFZ auf: 
Dr. Elena H. Angelova

Anfragen per Email oder Bewerbungen senden Sie bitte an bewerbung(at)dbfz(dot)de